On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Passing Of Special Teams Torch

Posted by Stephen Czarda on September 3, 2013 – 9:37 am

(AP Image)

(AP Image)

On Monday, Washington Redskins head coach Mike Shanahan announced the team-elected captains for the season opener against the Philadelphia Eagles. On the offensive side of the ball, quarterback Robert Griffin III and offensive tackle Trent Williams will wear the captain’s patch while nose tackle Barry Cofield and London Fletcher will carry the distinction for the defense. Obviously, there are no shockers in Shanahan’s announcement as all four carried the torch last year.

The only change as far as captainship from a year ago is on special teams where veteran Reed Doughty will be taking over a position that was held by linebacker/special teams ace Lorenzo Alexander. Doughty may not be the fastest player in the league, but is a guy who just gets it done year after year. Over the last two seasons, only Alexander recorded more special teams tackles.

While Alexander may be cross-country now with the Arizona Cardinals, he’s in constant communication with former coworkers and offered up nothing but his highest praise for Doughty taking over his spot in 2013.

For what it’s worth, although as Alexander emphatically pointed out it has very little, Doughty ran a 4.6 40 at the 2006 NFL Combine. Still, speedy or not, Doughty, who recorded 15 special teams tackles last season, has been working closely with special teams coordinator Keith Burns and has admittedly been willing to whatever it takes to help this team succeed. That mentality has caught the eye of Shanahan.

“[Doughty] is a difference-maker on special teams,” Shanahan said. “He can do everything you possibly can to make sure football team successful.”

CHIME IN: Last season the Redskins had six team captains. If you had a vote for who would be a sixth team captain, who would you choose?

Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Passing Of Special Teams Torch”

  1. By monkeyhouserodge on Sep 3, 2013 | Reply

    I wouldn’t have a problem having Kerrigan as a final captain spot

  2. By Dewayne on Sep 3, 2013 | Reply

    I’d have to go with Santana Moss or Kedric Golston. They are the longest tenured players remaining.

  3. By Paul Brooks on Sep 4, 2013 | Reply

    If I had a vote u would make D-Hall a team captain. Being a leader is all about selfless service sacrifice and taking responsibility for your actions, D-Hall does all of this and more. Last year during the run he played some of the best football of his career.

Post a Comment

%d bloggers like this: